MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, March 31, 2025 7:45 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 31, 2025, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Brent Hagenbuch, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Brian Birdwell Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Kevin Sparks

The chair called the meeting to order at 7:45 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after roll call was called: Senator Hughes and Senator Miles.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Flores to introduce his constituent Mr. Robert Misso III, who has been reappointed to the Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Vice-Chair Hagenbuch moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, University of North Texas System Board of Regents, Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, 183rd

Judicial District Court, Eighth Business Court Division, Supreme Court of Texas Place 2, Public Safety Commission, Director of the Office of School Safety and Security, San Antonio River Authority Board of Directors, Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Angelina and Neches River Authority Board of Directors, Texas Commission on the Arts, Correctional Managed Healthcare Committee, Texas Crime Stoppers Council, Texas Board of Criminal Justice, State Board of Dental Examiners, State Board of Education Chair, Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, Texas Facilities Commission, Finance Commission of Texas, Board of Pilot Commissioners for Galveston County Ports, Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists, Gulf Coast Protection District Board of Directors, Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Industrialized Building Code Council, 66th Judicial District Court, 297th Judicial District Court, Third Business Court Division, Judicial Compensation Commission, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, Texas Judicial Council, Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, Manufactured Housing Board, Advisory Committee to the Texas Board of Criminal Justice on Offenders with Medical or Mental Impairments, Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority, Independent Ombudsman for the Texas Juvenile Justice Department, Board of Pardons and Paroles, Texas Permanent School Fund Corporation Board of Directors, Alamo Regional Mobility Authority, Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority, Sabine River Authority of Texas Board of Directors, Veterans' Land Board, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. The motion carried with a record vote of 9 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Hughes and Senator Miles submitted motions in writing to be shown voting ave. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Eckhardt moved that the committee sever Justin L. Berry appointed to the Texas Commission of Law Enforcement from the list of pending nominees.

Vice-Chair Hagenbuch moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Justin L. Berry to the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 3 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Hughes submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye. Senator Miles submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting nay. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Mr. Misso made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, Senator Birdwell, Senator Alvarado and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, on behalf of Senator Bettencourt, to introduce his constituent Mr. Jack Moore, who has been appointed to the University of Houston System Board of Regents.

Mr. Moore made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Alvarado, and Senator Miles offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, on behalf of Senator Middleton, to introduce his constituent The Honorable Shawn Thierry, who has been appointed to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department.

Representative Thierry made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Miles, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, on behalf of Senator Schwertner, to introduce his constituent Mr. Frank Coppersmith, who has been appointed to the Department of Information Resources.

Mr. Coppersmith made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, on behalf of Senator Middleton, to introduce his constituent Mr. John Shannon, who has been appointed to the Texas Space Commission.

Mr. Shannon made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Hagenbuch offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt, to introduce her constituent Mr. Manny Cavazos, who has been reappointed to the Texas Board of Nursing.

Mr. Cavazos made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell announced that all nominees on the posted agenda would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 9:13 a.m., Chair Campbell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered

Senate Committee on Nominations Minutes Monday, March 31, 2025 Page 4

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair

Hayden Davis, Clerk