MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 19, 2025 7:45 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 19, 2025, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Brent Hagenbuch, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Brian Birdwell Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Kevin Sparks

The chair called the meeting to order at 7:45 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after roll call was called: Senator Alvarado, Senator Hughes, and Senator Miles.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Birdwell to introduce Senator Eckhardt's constituent Mr. James B. Goodwin, who has been appointed to the Texas Real Estate Commission, to the committee.

Senator Hagenbuch moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Administrative Judicial Region, Sixth, Board for Lease of Texas Parks and

Wildlife Lands, Brazos County Regional Mobility Authority, Coastal Water Authority Board of Directors, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Credit Union Commission, Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners, Nueces River Authority Board of Directors, Office of Public Utility Counsel, Parks and Wildlife Commission, Red River Authority of Texas Board of Directors, Risk Management Board for the State Office of Risk Management, State Board for Educator Certification, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, State Employee Charitable Campaign Policy Committee, Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Texas Board of Medical Radiologic Technology, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Texas Diabetes Council, Texas Medical Board, Texas Physician Assistant Board, Texas Southern University Board of Regents, Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners, Texas Underground Facility Notification Corporation (One-Call Board), and Upper Neches River Municipal Water Authority Board of Directors. The motion carried with a record vote of 9 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Alvarado, Senator Hughes, and Senator Miles submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Mr. Goodwin made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Birdwell, Senator Sparks, Senator Eckhardt, Senator Miles, Senator Hughes, Senator Paxton, and Senator Alvarado offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Commissioner Courtney Hjaltman, who has been appointed to the Public Utility Commission of Texas, to the committee.

Commissioner Hjaltman made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Birdwell, Senator Alvarado, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Chairman Thomas Gleeson, who has been appointed to the Public Utility Commission of Texas, to the committee.

Chairman Gleeson made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Birdwell, Senator Alvarado, Senator Paxton and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Cyrus Reed, representing himself, registered in favor of the nominations of Thomas Gleeson and Courtney Hjaltman to the Public Utility Commission of Texas, but did not testify.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Hagenbuch moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Credit Union Commission, Lavaca-Navidad River Authority, Lower Colorado River Authority, Nueces River Authority Board of Directors, Public Utility Commission of Texas, San Jacinto River Authority Board of Directors, State Preservation Board, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board, Texas Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors, Texas Forensic Science Commission, Texas Real Estate Commission, Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists, and Trinity River Authority of Texas Board of Directors. The motion carried with a record vote of 9 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Hughes, and Senator Sparks submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

There being no further business, at 9:15 a.m., Chair Campbell moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the Chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair

Hayden Davis, Clerk